Outfit: Balloon Sleeves

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

You may remember (me from such…) my post from a few weeks ago where I spoke about Spring/Summer trends that I am championing this year (check it out here if you haven’t already), in this I mentioned the colour pink (hello new pretty bow shoes) and statement sleeves. I have to say statement sleeves have been a real favourite of mine as you probably gathered from some of my previous posts (see here and here). So far it has mainly been the bell sleeve but that all changed when I clapped eyes on this little beaut of a jumper… enter the balloon sleeve, welcome to the family little one.

I am in love with this jumper, it’s so cool yet effortless and I love it even more as it is a waaayyy cheaper version of this Topshop one at just ยฃ8 from (you guessed it) Primark – you literally can’t afford to not get it at that price.

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

I found this piece a joy to style, as its such a statement piece it doesn’t really need much to look good, so a classic white shirt and my fave jeans and I’m away. I did of course have to add some points of interests (it’s all in the detail folks) to bring the whole look together, starting with the prettiest shoes in all the land. I’ve been dying to get these on my feet ever since I bought them a couple of weeks ago but I was waiting for an outfit that was just right and this blue hue outfit definitely needed a pastel pink pop (my school english teacher would be pleased to know I’m still making use of alliteration after all these years) – I also think the pastel pink of the shoes really complement the pastel blue of the jumper too in a boy meets girl kinda way, then just layer in some necklaces and grab your little kitty pouch (blue eyes, pink nose, hello!!!๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿผ) and jobs a goodun.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

You may have noticed a slight difference to this blog post in the fact that I have gone make-up free (you didn’t notice you say? Oh gosh thank you!๐Ÿ˜œ). This was a conscious effort on my part and I shall tell you why…

For many years now, I have suffered with problem skin, a condition which developed in my late teens and has been pestering me right through toย this very day. For those unfortunate people who have been cursed with the same condition you will understand the stress that goes hand in hand with it. It is horrible to suffer with problem skin, not knowing how long you have before the next breakout and never really having great skin even when you are not in the midst of a breakout because of scarring and redness. For years I lived with it as I didn’t think my skin was “bad enough” to warrant bothering the Doctor with until finally I accepted the fact that this wasn’t just a few spots, it was a problem. I went to the Doctors who confirmed it was and to my disappointment told me if I’d have come much sooner I would have saved myself from years of scarring… cry!

Since then I have been using a cream that my Doctor prescribed and my skin is so much better, I still do get the odd break out (I mean its not a miracle cream) but on the whole it has really worked well for me. I can be quite lax when it comes to applying the cream or when it comes to any sort of skin care regime for that matter, I mean every year I vow to find my skin care regime which results in me spending a fortune at the beginning of January only to be using my trusty wet wipes come the 31st… well I have actually upped my game this year and I’m using Micellar Water, which although is still not the best it is better than wipes so its a step in the right direction for me. I digress, yes so I’m not the best at applying this cream and at my latest Doctors appointment I said I’d been having a few more breakouts than usual… “Have you been applying the cream daily?” Errr no. So I’m back to avidly applying this cream again and guess what… no breakouts!๐Ÿคž๐Ÿผ

I have never been a high maintenance girl, I’m not one of these that have pamper days or gets my nails done… I mean I rarely even go to the hairdressers, just last month I asked my boyfriend if he would cut my hair for me. ๐Ÿคฆ๐Ÿผโ€โ™€๏ธ So I really would have loved to have been that girl with the great skin… less time on my appearance is always a winner for me.

As I am getting older and my skin seems to be playing ball I find myself wearing make-up less and less – I mean yes, it probably has a lot to do with that fact that I really can’t be arsed, especially before work (extra 15 minutes in bed people!) but I also think it’s to do with having the confidence to go make-up free. Yes my skin isn’t perfect and it never will be but to go outside and not have to worry that people are talking to a spot on my face rather than me is a big deal. It may seem silly to some people but it really isn’t to those who have been through it themselves.

Having problem skin can affect your self esteem so much, don’t put up with it if there is something you can do, lets all be fresh faced bitches together!!! I’m proper embracing it, like I feel really empowered – you can rub your face (don’t you love rubbing your eyes until you enter a new dimension of flashing lights) AND hug people without transferring any questionable orange marks. YES.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

And finally… ahhhh, lookit! A close up of the prettiest pink shoes all tied up with a bow. Well done Primark, your shoe game is strong right now. ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿผ

๐Ÿžx

One thought on “Outfit: Balloon Sleeves

  1. Pingback: Outfit: Sleeve love on the Seine – w h i t e b r e a d ๐Ÿž

Leave a Reply

