Outfit: Giving you the Cold Shoulder

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetSo, I got back from gay Paris on Monday and it already feels like a distant memory. Going back to work and being slapped in the face by the great British summer can really be a Buzz Killington. But none the less, my trip was a joy and a great opportunity to take some pics away from Manchester. I know I’ve been a bit lax with my posts of late so I’m really feeling a lot more inspired after a little break in a gloriously beautiful city and hopefully this will get me motivated to start posting on time again… Typical Laura to procrastinate.

From my previous post about Paris, you will know that it is one of my all time favourite cities in the whole wide world and even though this was my fourth visit, seeing the Eiffel Tower sparkle NEVER gets old (it still makes me “Awwwwww” every time).

Paris for me is a place I could (and hopefully one day will) live, language barrier aside (I just can’t do the accent, believe me I’ve tried), I think this city has everything I would want in a place to set up home. Not only is it extremely beautiful, it is also V.chic like the chic-est AND it has seasons… like summer is summer and winter is winter. I know the main pull for Brits to move abroad is the weather but for me I couldn’t be without a miserable rainy day every once in a while (maybe it’s the Manc in me? – I actually just had to get up to check out the almighty down pour thats going on outside). There’s just something about hearing the rain outside and being all cosy inside and imagine how much more romantic that would be in Paris for crying out loud??? I see myself wrapped in a duvet in one of those cool loft apartments with windows in the roof and just listening to the down pour with a cup of coffee and a croissant… that’s the dream right?

But any-who, I digress… in my bid to become the chic Parisian I always try so hard to be, I naturally over packed, we only really went for 2 full days so unless I was envisioning some sort of Mariah Carey outfit change three times a day I really didn’t need all the clothes but they came none the less and quelle surprise I stuck to a very minimal colour palette, even though I had orange striped culottes in my case (true story).

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetHoliday Styling.Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

So the yellow tassel earrings I told you about have finally made an appearance on the blog… I am so in love with them and I think they are the perfect accessory for this monotone outfit. This look was inspired by similar posts I have seen on instagram lately (to keep up to date with what inspires me, check out my tumblr) where smart tea dresses are paired with trainers… the ultimate definition of smart/casual. I’m loving the contrast of the two and it’s ideal for city breaks where you want to make a bit more effort but you still need the comfort for all the exploring.

The cold-shoulder trend has been one I have been reluctant to get on board with, I took an instant dislike to it when it first came about, when it seemed to be on a lot of jersey tees, for some reason I just thought it looked kinda sloppy but the cold shoulder has had a revamp of late, taking a sophisticated turn that has piqued my interest and led me to give it a trial run and I must admit, I liked it.

This look is one of three from Paris that you will be seeing over the coming weeks so watch this space. Also, if you want to see more of what I got up to whilst I was there then don’t forget to follow me on instagram.

PS. You’ll probably notice that my spate of good skin has sadly come to an end… it really knows how to pick it’s moments huh? 🙄

🍞x

4 thoughts on “Outfit: Giving you the Cold Shoulder

    1. lauracookson

      Thank you, yeah it’s actually from Primark, I bought it in the Sale for just £5, so a real bargain. Thanks for reading! 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

